Main content

    Memorial Medical Center Awarded Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers

    For more information, contact:
    Sutter Health Central Valley,

    Modesto, July 9, 2015 – Memorial Medical Center (MMC) announced that it has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® and the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Heart-Check mark for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers (External Link). The Gold Seal of Approval® and the Heart-Check mark represent symbols of quality from their respective organizations.

    MMC underwent a rigorous onsite review. Joint Commission experts evaluated compliance with stroke-related standards and requirements, including program management, the delivery of clinical care and performance improvement.

    “Memorial Medical Center has thoroughly demonstrated the greatest level of commitment to the care of stroke patients through its Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers,” said Michele Sacco, M.S., interim executive director, Certification Programs. “We commend them for becoming a leader in stroke care, potentially providing a higher standard of service for stroke patients in its community.”

    “We congratulate Memorial Medical Center for achieving this designation,” said Nancy Brown, chief executive officer, the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. “By adhering to this very specific set of treatment guidelines Memorial has clearly made it a priority to deliver high quality care to all patients affected by stroke.”

    We are pleased to receive advanced certification from The Joint Commission and the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association,” said Daryn Kumar, MMC chief executive officer. “The certification provides us with the opportunity to highlight the exceptional stroke care we provide as well as to continually strive to advance our care even further.”

    “Our team worked collaboratively on attaining this certification and we are proud to offer this level of service to patients in Modesto and the outlying communities we serve,” said Dr. Bettina Harner, MMC’s Stroke Center Medical Director.

    Established in 2003, Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers is awarded for a two-year period to Joint Commission-accredited acute care hospitals. The certification was derived from the Brain Attack Coalition’s “Recommendations for the Establishment of Primary Stroke Centers (External Link)” (JAMA, 2000) and the “Revised and Updated Recommendations for the Establishment of Primary Stroke Centers (External Link)” (Stroke, 2011).

    Stroke is the number four cause of death and a leading cause of adult disability in the United States, according to the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. On average, someone suffers a stroke every 40 seconds; someone dies of a stroke every four minutes; and 795,000 people suffer a new or recurrent stroke each year.

    # # #

    About Memorial Medical Center:
    Memorial Medical Center is part of Sutter Health, a family of not-for-profit hospitals, physician organizations and other medical services that share resources and expertise to advance health care quality and access. Serving more than 100 communities in Northern California, Sutter Health is a regional leader in cardiac care, cancer treatment, orthopedics, obstetrics, and newborn intensive care, and is a pioneer in advanced patient safety technology. Learn more about Memorial Medical Center.

    About The Joint Commission:
    Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission (External Link) seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 20,500 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including hospitals and health care organizations that provide ambulatory and office-based surgery, behavioral health, home care, laboratory and nursing home services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. The Joint Commission has two nonprofit affiliate organizations: The Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare (External Link) aims to solve health care’s most critical safety and quality problems and Joint Commission Resources (JCR) (External Link) provides consulting services, educational services and publications. Joint Commission International (External Link), a division of JCR, accredits and certifies international health care organizations. Learn more about The Joint Commission at (External Link).

    About the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association:
    The American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association are devoted to saving people from heart disease and stroke- America’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We team with millions of volunteers to fund innovative research, fight for stronger public health policies, and provide lifesaving tools and information to prevent and treat these diseases. The Dallas-based American Heart Association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. The American Stroke Association is a division of the American Heart Association. To learn more or to get involved, call 1-800-AHA-USA1, visit (External Link) or call any of our offices around the country. Follow us on Facebook (External Link) and Twitter (External Link).

    The familiar Heart-Check mark now helps consumers evaluate their choices in hospital care. Each mark given to a hospital is earned by meeting specific standards for the care of patients with heart disease and/or stroke. The Heart-Check mark can only be displayed by hospitals that have achieved and defined requirements set by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.